ILP Reflection 2

I am glad I did the Independent Learning Project I did because I learned so much about trying to stay fit and the hard work and motivation needed to accomplish those fit goals. I learned that I need a little extra motivation when it comes to working out than I do with anything else. When comparing the two independent learning projects I did between this semester and last semesters; I found last semesters to be a lot easier. I think part of it is because I love art and love getting creative. It all came easy and natural to me. On the other hand, working out has always been a challenge since I can remember. I have never been athletic and never really been motivated when it comes to that aspect.

I would wake up some days feeling motivated and ready to run a marathon. On other days, I would just be exhausted from school and work that I was not motivated to go do anything that had to do with working out. I had a lot more days of having to drag myself in the gym than days where I actually wanted to be there. I find it so annoying that I do that to myself, because I feel great after a good workout, it’s just getting there and getting everything I’m supposed to be doing out of the way.

I found it to be pretty challenging for me to keep up with the project. Not just because the lack of motivation, but also because I like to see results quickly and this is something that takes time. I see myself as always on the run and getting things done as quickly as possible. So this was the complete opposite. I felt like no matter what I did I wasn’t seeing any results. looking back at it, I realized how much you must do to get those results and the amount of time they take, I just needed to respect the process. Another thing I found challenging, was trying not to eat so many sweets or sugary drinks. The drinks weren’t the hard part because I only drink water for the most part, it was the sweets that would get me in trouble!

The best part of the project was when I finally got to see some results. I weighed myself this morning and it was fantastic to see that I went from weighing 116 lbs. at the beginning of the semester to weighing 109 lbs. this morning. I know that’s not a lot but I could really tell that I did lose some weight. I like to go through my camera roll and just look at the pictures of myself from last semester. I find it crazy that I didn’t notice how much seven pounds can make a difference. I also really enjoyed seeing everyone else’s projects, their progress and also seeing how I wasn’t the only one struggling.

I think that an independent learning project is a good project for the upper elementary kids. I feel like they would get more out of it than the younger kids would. I like that it is so broad to what you can do. This would really get the kids thinking and doing something they have always wanted to do but can’t manage to find time or the motivation to do it. The learning project makes you really reflect on the project itself and the amount of time it takes to accomplish something. They can really see firsthand, that not everything in the world is just handed to them. Something else they can learn from this project is that anything they set their minds to they can accomplish. At a young age, I think it is important to put that in their brains and what a better way than to allow them to experience it on their own instead of someone just telling them. Even if they aren’t “successful” they can still learn from it. There are many other lessons that can be learned from an independent learning project. Overall, I had fun with both my ILP’s and even though the class is over, I am still going to continue to work out.

Leave a Reply

