Passion-Based Learning

For my two articles, I read “25 Ways to Institute Passion-Based Learning in the  Classroom” and “Three Questions to Drive Passion Based Learning”. Out of the two articles I really liked the 25 ways article. Throughout the whole article, I kept thinking about ways to incorporate what I was reading into my own classroom someday.

Both articles had really great ideas for passion-based learning. In the article, “Three Questions to Drive Passion Based Learning”, it talked about asking questions like, what will I learn, what will I solve, and what will I create? I think these are really great questions that could help students get on their feet and engaged in learning. The second article was by far the best one. All the ways they talked about were great ideas to help kids out and it allowed the teacher to get involved as well! Whereas the other article it seemed like they wanted to kids to do it all, which I am okay with but I want to help them too!  The very first tip was to be passionate yourself as the teacher. I think that being a passionate teacher can have a huge impact on the student’s perspectives of what they are learning. Adding excitement will only keep them to learn more, which is a great goal to set as a teacher. The article also mentioned that it is important to allow students to express their own passions, which I believe in as well. In my opinion it is okay to allow students to get off topic once in a while and express their passions because they might not have someone at home that will listen to them. Going along with that the article also talked about provided resources for students to exercise their passions. As teachers, I think it is important to spark every child’s interest and help them learn about things they are interested in, even if it takes sometime after school. There are so many more tips on just this one site but I won’t mention them all. One thing that did grab my attention was number 25, “connect passion with intelligence, not talent”. In my science block class, we discussed this and it I mentioned how in high school it often seemed like we were either good at certain subjects or we weren’t, teachers don’t really say that you learn to be good at those things. I often heard some of my own teachers say things like “oh I am not good at math”, looking back those words are kind of discouraging. It makes it seem like you are either born good at math or you are not. It wasn’t until I got to college that I realized it’s not something you are born with, but instead you can practice and learn how to be “good” at it.

Overall, I read really good articles, I think that I will definitely keep these as references for my future classroom. I would like to learn more about passion- based learning, hopefully I will get around to reading the rest of the articles, because they were great resources.

Leave a Reply

