My ILP

After thinking these past few weeks on what to do for a project, I decided to change it up and do something that would benefit myself this time. I was going to continue to work on art projects for kids but instead, I decided to start a workout routine. I have tried this many times in the past and I made it a full week before I started to make excuses to not go. So, I figured this would be a great way to force me to go because hey I have to blog about it. We have all heard about the “freshmen 15” … yea well I’m well over the “freshmen 15” haha.

I want to do this because I know that if I am consistent with going every day to meet the required hours for the course I will end up seeing positive results by the end of the semester. This week since it was five hours I tried to get all of them in but I was a little bit short on the hours since I started a little bit late on it and the weather didn’t help. I started off by just going to the PAC, and my first day wasn’t so great just because I felt very intimidated and uncomfortable. I can’t even remember the last time I did any physical activities so I felt out of place and very out of shape! This week I focused on just running on the treadmill and biking. I did 25 minutes on the treadmill and 15 on the bike on Monday. On Tuesday and Wednesday I didn’t go to the PAC because of the weather and I was pretty much dead from the little I did on Monday haha. However, I did try to do some abs and glutes at home but only did 15 minutes on both days. I used the Nike+ training app on my phone to get the workout routines, and it wasn’t all 15 minutes of working out there were some breaks in between, this might be too extreme for me now too. On Thursday I did the same routine as Monday and it went well. On Friday I did the same thing but added an extra 20 minutes on the treadmill of speed walking.

After doing that this week I realized that I want a little bit more. I ended up talking to a friend that lifts and he said he would help me come up with a routine. As scary as it sounds I am going to try lifting eventually. Right now, I am just trying to get comfortable with going into the PAC.  I realize that on top of the freshman 15 I am also weak as heck! I am not going to post any pictures right now but before the semester ends if there’s visible results I will post a before and after picture. I am honestly more excited about this than I have been in the past. I think it’s because I want to see those results and I know I am going to have to stick through it for this class.

6 thoughts on “My ILP

  1. This sounds like a great idea! Finding a way to learn to stay healthy, and loose weight! I too started the gym late last year, and it is very intimidating. Though it sounds like getting your friend to help you will be super helpful! Good luck!

    Like

  2. Wow, this one is great! I think often times we take health for granted, and I think that we all need to work hard on it. I look forward to seeing this progress over the semester. There is also so much to learn about your body and what to put into your body. I encourage you to keep going!

    Like

  3. I think this is a great ILP idea! I’m on the volleyball team, but I definitely found those freshman pounds in the off-season last year, and I also found the PAC really intimidating. I felt like everyone in there was going to judge what I was doing and how well I was doing it. Getting friends’ help is always a positive thing, and I think you will find a lot of help online! Good luck, and I’m excited to hear about your progress!

    Like

Leave a Reply

