A Waste of Time

After reading the articles, watching the TED Talk and reflecting on my own life and how I use technology, I came to realize that my life is being consumed by technology and I hate it. There are days when I can be really productive and spend less time on social media than other days; but there are days where I feel like I spent the whole day on Facebook. After reading Why You Feel Terrible After Spending Too Much Time On Facebook it was nice to know that I wasn’t the only one who felt that way. Like the article stated, I often feel like I spend too much time on Facebook and get nothing out of doing so. Spending too much time on Facebook always makes me feel like I wasted an entire day of being interactive and productive. That is why after reading all of the articles, I have decided to disconnect myself from Facebook, Instagram and after this class Twitter as well. I did however, leave Facebook messenger because I have classmates and family in Mexico that use messenger to stay connected with us. I also kept Snapchat but I might consider getting rid of that too for a while. I took the advice from the article Simplify the Internet and got rid of some apps and kept others. I hope that by doing this I can stay more focused on things that matter and gain back some of the communication with the some of the people around me. I don’t think I have lost communicaton as much as just wasting my time instead of being productive or spending my time doing other things instead.

One of the best times I have are when I go to Mexico either in the summer or in December. I think part of that is because I am completely disconnected from everything. I don’t have a phone; I don’t take a laptop because our house is out of town so there’s rarely any reception out there any way. I enjoy everything I do while I am down there, even if it is just sitting outside on my grandma’s sidewalk watching her feed her animals. I take my phone but I mainly use it for pictures and even then I still don’t take it out as much. There is so much more communication between all of us and the whole time I am there I never have the temptation to go get on Facebook. Here it is so tempting because I have access to everything!

12 thoughts on “A Waste of Time

  1. I kind of realized the same exact thing! My life is so consumed by technology at times it drives me insane, i would love nothing more than to just shut it all off for a week. It would be so refreshing and so relaxing!

    Like

  2. hatterbury says:

    Nice! I’m a little on the fence about deleting Facebook — I don’t think it’s a healthy social media site for me, but like you I also use it to keep touch with family and friends. It’s a conundrum. The Internet presents a challenge, and everyone, I think, has different limits — but the important part is to be first and foremost present with those in front of you.

    Like

  3. I feel like a majority of people are feeling the same way. I think if everyone took a serious step back to evaluate themselves it could be an eye opener. I am glad you are choosing to take a break at least from some of the social media and that you are “unplugged” when you go visit family. If they had better service do you think it would be the same way? How long do you think being away from Facebook, Twitter etc. will last for you?

    Like

    • I don’t think it would changed much just because I’m always out doing things or talking with my family and they don’t have any phones so communicating is so much easier. I also don’t want to seem rude by checking my phone or anything like that. I’m not sure how long it will last, I know that after this semester is over I will get rid of my twitter for sure. Facebook I will keep because I have family in Mexico that communicate with me every once in a while through Facebook.

      Like

  4. I think it is so cool that you are able to disconnect when you visit your family in Mexico. I believe our world is so consumed with technology that it has almost become like a poison. I have considered closing my Facebook account, Snapchat, and Twitter after this class is over but I often wonder if the people around me, the people I care about and want to spend time with will continue to have their faces stuck in their phones or laptops while I am trying to reconnect with them.

    Like

    • It is really nice, you don’t realize it at first but reflecting on it now, I love not having my phone or any other form of technology while I’m there. It’s crazy to think that I don’t even miss it! I completely understand what you mean when you say you would be worried the people around you might be stuck in their phones.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I reacted in much the same way after completing this module. It’s terrible to realize the moments you’ve wasted on something so insignificant like social media. However, I appreciate having my eyes opened. I will definitely try to become more mindful of my technology use moving forward! On another note, I think it’s awesome you have times in your life where you can completely disconnect like when you go to Mexico. I need to find a way to do the same. Good post!

    Like

    • Thank you! Like you said, it was a big eye opener to see how much time technology can consume in a person’s life and it wasn’t until this last week that I realized how much of my own life was being consumed.

      Like

  6. Good for you!! Awesome post and way to take a “real” look at things. I’m pretty scaled back these days with only Twitter for this class and FB. I have to say though after this week with all the election stuff, I quit FB, well took a 30-day hiatus to detox. I kept messenger on and took the app off all my devices, it’s day five with no FB and I feel better about myself and the world for that matter. I let things get to me way too much. This week was just too much nonsense was coming at me from all directions. I hit my limit. Disconnecting is refreshing, but man, I’ve never tried it from a Mexico. I think I need to try it out … stat! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

