Keeping Creativity

I am not sure if I am on the right track with the Independent Learning project but I think that for my project, I would like to focus a lot more on the creativity side of education. I want to do mine art related. I think that being creative is fun and engaging for students. I know that since I was little, art was the one class I always looked forward to because it gave me so much freedom to express myself more than any other classroom. Although I was never that good at art I still loved it, I wish that I would have learned more and at a younger age. I plan on being an elementary school teacher and I believe that it is important to maintain the creative minds active and allowing the students to express themselves through art, because some students may not know how to do it otherwise.

I know that at my old elementary school they took away the art class that the kids had as a “special” now they only have music and P.E. I just think that kids are always trying to find ways to put themselves out there and what better way than to allow them to put their thoughts on to beautiful art projects. I plan on making adjustments to my learning plan because I am a little unsure on what the exact requirement is but I plan on thinking of ways to incorporate art into my classroom. I am thinking of maybe having at least 20 minutes every other day working on an art project with the kids and putting them all into folders that they can display throughout the classroom during the school year and then again at the end of the school year.

I think this would be a good use of my learning time because it will allow me to actually go and do the projects and maybe do one project for month of the school year. And just have the students work on it until the last week of the month. I plan on incorporating different art terms and skills to each art project so that they have the educational background as well as the chance to be creative. I hope that I can go through with this Independent learning Project, and if any one has any suggestions or comments on my project to please let me know, thank you!

19 thoughts on “Keeping Creativity

  1. I love that you are just jumping into your creative learning activity, I had not idea if I was on the right track with mine, and am still not sure but I am giving it my best shot! I agree with you 110% on creativity, it is very important!

    Like

  2. I think this is a great idea. I too am a little confused about the independent learning project but I think that is because it is so broad and it doesn’t sound like there are many guidelines. I do love bringing art into your lessons. this is something i want to do too!

    Like

  3. This sounds like a great project! It is so sad that art is being taken away from so many schools. Art was my favorite class in elementary school, a class where I felt comfortable in from the start. It is so great that you are trying to maintain creativity with the students because creativity is so very important. Great post, can’t wait to see the kids’ artwork!

    Like

  4. jaylinnlohrdigitalliteracy says:

    I think what you are doing your independent project is great! Our students want to be creative but as we get older we lose that. I think you will learn a lot and I can’t wait to see what you find! Good luck!

    Like

  5. I think this is a good goal. It seems that a lot of teachers are so worried about being in control of the environment they are in that they don’t put themselves out there. Make it entertaining and you keep a kids attention. They will learn from most anything but you have to be able to keep their attention.

    Like

    • I agree, I think it will be a little hard especially as a new teacher just because we don’t want to mess up or make it seem like we aren’t “following the rules” but I don’t have a doubt in my mind that this is something I would like to do. Like I said, I don’t plan on spending a whole lot of time but just enough so that my kids get that experience and learn a thing or two from art.

      Like

  6. I love this idea! Students, both young and old, flourish when they’re given an idea to build on and few rules to tie them down. I think this would be a great idea for students of any age. You could easily put different art projects to different subjects and make them more or less complex depending on the age. Including art in the classroom can sometimes be the only place students will ever get to express themselves. It’s a win win situation! Great idea!

    Like

    • Thank you! I don’t think it will be too hard to incorporate art into any subject, and I can even set some time aside to actually teach art. Teach different terms and techniques but at the same time keeping it fun for the kids.

      Like

  7. Creativity is so great! It is needed in every part of our lives, it helps us think more and use our brains more! It might hurt sometimes but we learn from it! I think using projects to show what we’ve learn is a great idea to learn!

    Like

  8. I love your idea for your ILP. Elementary school art in my little town is hit and miss, some grades offer it and some don’t. In one school the art room is void of anything interesting to look at – white walls, a white board, tables and zero posters, zero color, no projects on display, etc. And the main supplies are markers and construction paper. I just want to go paint that room in bright colors and hang some posters to make it somewhat inspiring. Making time for kids to just create is often written off and yet it’s so important. I also love that you plan to display the projects – kids love to see their work hung up and parents love to see their kids’ stuff on display as well. While researching something for another class I found this article that had some fun ideas on this subject, maybe it will help you too. http://www.teachhub.com/12-ways-bring-arts-your-classroom

    Like

    • Thank you, Like I said hopefully I am on the right track with this project. I am not the best at art but I like it and I took a couple classes in high school as well as college so I am hoping that I can incorporate what I learned into the classroom. Like you said, art is important and sometimes we over look the importance of art. I remember when I was a tutor at the after school program at home, some of those kids didn’t even know how to use scissors and in my opinion it all happened because we no longer have an art classroom and teachers don’t want to spend time teaching it, but again I don’t blame them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

