Mock Caldecott

This post is a little late, I’ve been kind of busy the past week and a half but its better late than never. I think that it would be a great idea to have a Mock Caldecott award in the classroom. From what I read it seemed like a fun activity that the kids would enjoy. The kids would especially enjoy the part where they get to make their own award and name it themselves. This is a great idea because the kids would have fun with it while learning what the Mock Caldecott award is all about and what books go along with it. A problem that can be seen by having this is that not all the schools may approve of it but I think a possible solution would be offering it as an extra credit opportunity instead of trying to change the curriculum. Another problem that I could see is going back to the kids making their own award and getting upset because he or she didn’t win, granted they are fifth graders but there are some that still feel sad when they don’t win. Three books that really caught my eye from the list of Mock Caldecott books were Maple by Lori Nicholas, Ivan the Remarkable True Story of the Shopping Mall Gorilla by Katherine Applegate, and The Troublemaker by Lauren Castillo. The book that grabbed my attention the most though was the Ivan book just because we read the other novel by Katherine Applegate and I really enjoyed that book, I think reading this book would make me appreciate the other book even more than I already do. The book Maple also seems really interesting just because of the story plot about the little girl and the maple tree she grew up with. The Troublemaker is another book that I would want to read because it seemed like a funny book about troublemakers.

One thought on “Mock Caldecott

Leave a Reply

