It’s Monday, What are you Reading

For this weeks “It’s Monday, What are you Reading?!” I read some more picture books and a chapter book to make up for the four hours of reading.

I know a wee Piggy

The first book I read was I Know a Wee Piggy by Kim Norman and this book is about a piggy who wanted to wallow in different colors, and his journey begins when his owner accidentally lets him loose. I really liked this book because it had great illustrations and a lot of colors, it also had rhyming and is a great book to make kids laugh.

If you give a moose a muffin

The second book I read was If You Give a Mouse a Muffin by Laura Joeffe Numeroff. This book is just like the books If You Give a Mouse a Cookie, so I really liked it, it is full of crazy adventures and kids will be sure to like it. I know I really enjoyed these books when I was younger.

Pink Magic

Pink Magic by Donna Jo Napoli was another book I read and it is about a little boy who wishes someone would send him stuff in the mail like people did to his sister. His sister kept getting letters in the mail with birthday cards in them wishing her a happy birthday and Nick wasn’t getting anything, his sister felt bad and for her birthday wish before blowing out the candles she wished that Nick would get something big and Pink in the mail. Next thing she knew Nick was getting Pink Flamingos, Pink pigs, Pink Elephants in the mail, which his mom did not approve of. Nick was still sad though because all he wanted was a letter in the mail from someone special, that gave his sister Eva an idea… It was a good book I liked it especially since all these animals came from the mailman’s pouch.

just mabel

I also read Just Mabel by Frieda Wishinsky, and this book was about a little girl who wants to be famous but a boy told her that she had a boring name and would never be famous with that kind of name. That made Mabel feel really sad, so she changed her name; except for the boys were bullies about everything Mabel did until she one day decided to ignore them. I think this book would be a good book to teach kids about bullying.

gooney bird is so absurd

The last book I read was Gooney Bird is so absurd by Lois Lowry. This book is about a girl who goes to school always wearing strange clothes to school and kid often tease her about it, considering she once showed up to class with underwear on her head. She is a very unique individual and isn’t afraid to stand up for what she believes, and she shows that when a substitute teacher calls her out on her “uniqueness” but she didn’t do it in a nice way; that day she not only ended up standing up for herself but she also stood up for the other students in the class as well. I liked this book because it teaches kids to be unique and to be their own person even if others don’t like what you do.

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What are you Reading

  1. I think all of you books sound like great books that would have a lesson to teach behind them like bullying, or even just about being yourself. If You Give A Moose A Muffin used to be one of my favorite books to read when I was younger, when I went to library this week I saw all of those books and was tempted to read them again. Good Choice in books this week!

    Like

  2. Great choices this week! I really think that I Know a Wee Piggy sounds super cute and I think it would be a great book to read a loud to a class. I remember reading If You Give A Moose A Muffin when I was younger and reading it to little kids several other times. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

