It’s Monday What are You Reading

For this weeks “its Monday what are you Reading” post I read four books. I read Take Me out to the Yakyu by Aaron Meshon, Tito Puente Mambo King Rey Del Mambo by Monica Brown, Chicka Chicka 1,2,3 by Bill Martin Jr, and Lost Star by Patricia Lauber.

Take me out to the Yakyu

The first book was Take Me out to the Yakyu this book was about a little Japanese boy whose grandparents take him to a baseball game in American and in Japan as well. Throughout the book he compares the two baseball games and how even though they are a baseball game there are a lot of differences between the two countries when it comes to baseball and celebrating. Overall I enjoyed the book and it had good illustrations.

Tito Puente Mamba King

The second book I read was Tito Puente Mambo King Rey del Mambo. This book was about Tito Puente the Mambo King and it gave a little short autobiography of Tito Puente and how he became the Mambo King. This book was a bilingual book so it gave me some practice with reading Spanish and I learned some new words as well.

chicka chicka 123

The third book was Chicka Chicka 1, 2, 3. This book is about numbers and how the number 0 wants to get on the tree but doesn’t think there is a place for it.

Lost star

The last book is Lost Star by Patricia Lauber. Lost star is about Amelia Earhart the first female to fly around the world. Amelia was a very daring girl and didn’t agree as to why women couldn’t do everything men could do, she obviously proved everyone wrong because she was the first female to fly around the world. It also goes into the disappearance of Amelia and how the world reacted and tried really hard to find her. I liked this book it was very inspiring to see Amelia followed her dreams and how committed she stayed regardless of all the risks she knew she was taking.

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday What are You Reading

  1. Tito Puente and Chicka Chicka 123 are two books I have read myself and thought they were good books. I took Spanish in high school but do not remember much of it, reading Tito Puente refreshed my mind a little on some Spanish I thought it was very cool how the author made the book bilingual. Lost Star sounds like a good book to read to learn about Amelia Earhart. I have always found her to be an interesting woman but have never read much about her to know anything other than she was the first women to fly around the world. I will have to check it out!

    Like

  2. I really like bilingual books because it gives me practice on reading Spanish books! I have also found Amelia Earhart interesting I remember doing research on her for an English paper so that’s why I chose that book to read this week, I would recommend it because its very factual.

    Like

  3. Great choices of books! I loved reading Tito Puente when I read it earlier this semester. I loved that it was bilingual and what a great choice to go along with our diversity theme of the week. I think bilingual books are a great way to help incorporate diversity as well as combat it. I also read Chicka Chicka 1,2,3 and I didn’t think it was too bad. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

