It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

For this week’s it’s Monday! What are you Reading? I decided to take Dr. Ellington’s recommendation from a few weeks ago and read the book Becoming Naomi Leon by Pam Munoz.

Becoming Naomi Leon

This book is was definitely had a lot of intensity to it and when I first picked it up I wasn’t sure what it was going to be about. I would say that at the beginning I thought it would be about a little girl trying to figure herself out but I never imagined all the events that would go on throughout the book. With that being said the book was about a little girl named Naomi Leon who lived with her younger brother and her grandmother. Her little brother is also disabled and her personality at the beginning of the book she is very shy and doesn’t speak out. After seven years her mother reappears to take Naomi back but the only reason she wants her back but she only wants Naomi she doesn’t want to take her little brother Owen. Her grandmother though doesn’t agree with it so they move to a place in Mexico called Oaxaca in search of Naomi’s father. Throughout the book Naomi tries really hard to keep her family together and I would say that could be a possible theme for the book, “Fight for what you want”. Naomi went from a shy girl who didn’t stand up for herself to a great role model for her little brother and a strong young lady. I really enjoyed this book, I’m glad Dr. Ellington recommended this book to me! The book made me realize how lucky I am to have the family that I do that cares about me and all of my siblings. I saw that she wrote another book called Esperanza Rising, I’m considering reading that book as well since I enjoyed Becoming Naomi Leon.

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

  1. This sounds like a very good book. Maybe even a little intense in some spots. I think family is so important no matter if your family is the people your were born to or the friends you make in life. It is important to have a support system and people to stand with. I think the theme fight for you sounds suitable by what you said about the book itself. I might have to go check it out and see what I think of it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

