It’s Monday What are you Reading?!?

For this week’s its Monday What are you Reading post I read a couple of picture books and a small chapter book.

all the way to america     The first book I read was All the Way to America by Dan Yaccarino. This book was about an Italian family and a little shovel that gets passed down to each generation of children. The story started off with Michele Laccarino who decided to move to America in search of better opportunities. When he arrived to America he worked at a bakery where he used his little shovel to measure out flour and sugar. That little shovel was given to him by his father to help tend the vegtables; that same little shovel got passed down to his children and their children, and so on, until it got to Dan Yaccarino who is the author of the book.

let it shineThe second book I read was Let It Shine by Ashley Bryan. This book is based off of three songs and the author turned them into a book with very colorful pictures. I really liked the illustrations in this book.diego bigger than life

The next book I read was Diego Bigger Than Life by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand. I overall liked this book because it is like a biography of Diego Rivera but with pictures and not a long and boring article. I learned a lot about Diego Rivera by reading this book he had an interesting life and many wives.

diego rivera his world and oursI also read Diego Rivera His world and Ours by Duncan Tonatiuh. This book left aside all the negatives that Diego Rivera had in his life and only portrayed Diego Rivera as the great artist of Mexico. I really liked the illustrations in this book as well as the comparison of the world he lived in and the world we live in now.

martin de porres


The sixth book I read was Martin de Porres the Rose in the Desert by Gary D. Schmidt. This book is about a boy who was born to a slave and Don Juan de Porres an important man in Ecuador. Martin de Porres became a saint because he could heal people, was humble towards the poor people. I really liked this book.

diary of a wimpy kidThe last book I read was one of my favorites, and that book is Diary of a Wimpy Kid. This book is about a middle school boy that writes in a journal or “diary” about everything that goes on throughout the school year. He is kind of a “loser” kid so he tries to become “popular” but isn’t very successful at it. I like all these books because they are easy to read and the writing makes me actually want to read it because it’s not small and a lot of word on each page.

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday What are you Reading?!?

  1. I’ve read both those biographies of Diego Rivera too. I thought the biography written in poetry was quite interesting because it definitely told a lot about his personal life, which sounds rather tumultuous and busy! Have you read any of the picture book biographies of Frida Kahlo? There are several good ones.

    Like

  2. You had a very big variety of books this week and I think that is important in reading. All The Way To America sounds like a good book. I have heard of Diego Rivera but do not know much about him it might be interesting to read these two books a learn about him. I enjoy learning about new people. Let it Shine sounds like a pretty good book as well. I think it would be interesting to see the songs from a illustrated point and not just sung and words.

    Like

Leave a Reply

