Its Monday! What are you Reading?

For this week’s assignment we had to read Newbery Honor books. The two books I chose to read were Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan and What Jamie Saw by Carolyn Coman.

Sarah plain and tall

The first book was Sarah, Plain and Tall; this book is about a family of three whose mother/wife died a day after giving birth to their son Caleb. From the beginning of the book the readers can see how the atmosphere of the family is sad and lonely and I could tell that the family needed that mother/wife figure in the house. The dad ends up putting an ad in the newspaper and a woman named Sarah responds the letter. To me that was a little odd and I didn’t know what to expect from this woman that responded to the ad in the newspaper. She eventually moves in to the house and plans to get married to the dad in the summer and the kids love her but she misses her old home and the sea. It is then when the kids think she is going to leave them and never come back one day when she decided to go into town by herself. I liked this book, it didn’t have much action or anything but it was a little sad to see how the children really need a motherly figure and how much this stranger changed their lives. I would recommend this book because it is easy to read and is a good story. The author of the book was born in Cheyenne, Wyoming and I thought that was really cool considering I’m from Wyoming.what jamie saw

The Second book I read was What Jamie Saw by Carolyn Coman; this book is about a third grade boy who saw his baby sister get thrown across the room by her mom’s boyfriend. Luckily though her mom was on the other side and caught the baby but as soon as that happened Jamie and his mom and sister sheltered with one of his mom’s friends and he had a trailer which they end up moving into. I wouldn’t say this is one of my favorite books because I don’t agree with some of the mom’s actions but I think this is a good book that gives the perspective of a third grader in situations like the one Jamie was in. Overall it was an alright book and it was easy to read as well.

6 thoughts on “Its Monday! What are you Reading?

  1. Seems like What Jamie Saw could be an important book to have available for students who might be going through similar things at home. Sometimes we can’t talk about what’s going on in our lives, but we can help ourselves process and understand by reading about similar stories. Sarah Plain and Tall is a Newbery I’ve read many times–I love stories about pioneers!

    Like

    • I completely agree and I think it is good for those kids to let them know that they are not alone. I also liked the pioneer book I don’t really remember reading other books about pioneers but I really enjoyed this one.

      Like

  2. I remember reading Sarah Plain and Tall when I was younger. I loved that book, but I did not know that the author was from Cheyenne, Wyoming. I think that is awesome because I am from Douglas, Wyoming. It sounds like Jamie Saw is a very sad book, but is sounds like it is a good book to read and a good book for kids from similar situations to relate to.

    Like

  3. The book Sarah, Plain and Tall, was highly recommended by my mother many years ago. I never took time to read it. I found it in our library this week, and it is on my list. I didn’t realize what it was about, but now I know why it was important to my mom. She lived through this scenario, as the Caleb did. Ninety-six years ago. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

