It’s Monday! What are you Reading? 9/8/14

For this week we had to read award winning books. It was pretty hard to find the books at the library on campus but I ended up finding some great books.

 the moon over star

The first book I chose was The Moon over Star by Dianna Hutts Ashton and illustrated by Jerry Pinkney was a winner of the Coretta Scott King Award in 2009. It is about a little girl who dreams of becoming an Astronaut and at the same time she dreams of this a man lands on the moon for the first time. I liked the illustrations they were very appealing to me and I also liked the overall story plot.

 my name is gabito

The second book I chose was My Name is Gabito by Monica Brown is the winner of the Pura Belpré Award. This book is about a little boy whose nickname is Gabito and he tells a lot of stories because of what he sees, his imagination, and the stories he hears his grandpa tell. Gabito turns out to be Gabriel Garcia Marquez a very famous author. The illustrations in this book were fantastic and I really liked how in the end there is a short autobiography of Gabriel Garcia Marquez.

 the watermelon seed

For my third book I chose The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli. This book is a winner of the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award. I really enjoyed this book it was very cute and I liked the fun colors used in this story. I could instantly relate to the crocodile because when I was younger I used to think that I would grow a watermelon in my stomach if I ate the seed. This book is a great book for the younger kids because I’m sure at one point or another we can all relate to being scared of eating a watermelon seed.

 A splash of red

The next book I chose was A Splash of Red by Jen Bryant. This book is the 2014 Honor book the Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal. I really like the story line of determination and how many people can see this as anything is possible as long as one sets his or her mind to it.

 rules

For the Schneider Family Book Award I chose the book Rules by Cynthia Lord. The book was about a little girl with a little brother who has autism and she teaches him all these rules that he is supposed to follow. She wants to live a “normal” life with a “normal” little brother. This book was very touching, I don’t know what it is like to live with someone with autism but through the book I was able to put myself into that position and some parts were very sweet and heart touching. This book was enjoyable and I would recommend it.

 even monsters need haircuts

The final book I chose was Even Monsters Need Haircuts by Matthew McElligott. This book is the award winner of the Golden Sower Award. This book is about a kid who gives monsters haircuts and in order to do this he has to stay out his bedtime. This book is for primary kids and I think they would really enjoy this book because it’s funny.

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you Reading? 9/8/14

  1. Wonderful variety of books this week! Sometimes I include Rules on the required reading list for this class. I think it’s an important book that is very kid-friendly. Makes a good read-aloud too. Lots to discuss there. Sometimes the main character frustrates my students because she isn’t always that nice about her brother, but I think that’s realistic.

    Like

  2. I can see why the kids would get frustrated and I think it is a good book to read to the older kids and for them to see that not everyone is the same and they should be nice to everyone. I kind of see it as a good book for them to reflect on some of their own behaviors and think twice before being mean to someone. It is a good book to get the kids involved in a discussion.

    Like

Leave a Reply

