It’s Monday! What are you Reading? 9/1/14

 

 

year of the Billy MillerFor this week’s “It’s Monday! What are you Reading?” I did not choose a bunch of books and fill in for the four hours by doing that. Instead, I chose one book that I thought would take me four hours if not a little more to read. The book I chose to read this week was The Year of Billy Miller by Kevin Henkes. This book is about a second grader, named Billy, who falls and hits his head pretty hard on the pavement and ends up going to the hospital. After he is released from the hospital he overhears a conversation between his parents who are concerned about him losing his memory. Well he takes that as “he won’t be smart enough” this year; so most of his second grade he spends his time trying not to be “dumb”. He encounters a few situations like building a school project and writing a poem about a parent in which he overcomes some of his fears. Like every child he also thinks he is “grown up” and shouldn’t call his dad “Papa” any more instead just “dad” because papa is what babies use. I liked this book, it wasn’t a picture book which is what I would normally get, but I really enjoyed it. I think it was a great book overall and I wouldn’t say I disliked any aspect of it. If I were to change one thing though it would be to put more action into it, sense second graders are full of energy. This book has 229 pages so I think this book would be great for upper elementary kids and sixth graders; maybe even some seventh graders. As for the content though I wouldn’t really recommend it for upper level kids just because it is kind of childish, the younger kids would definitely enjoy it more.

 

 

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you Reading? 9/1/14

  1. I had a mixed response to Year of Billy Miller. I liked it, but I wanted a little more. Like you, I thought there wasn’t quite enough action and drama. I did like the family dynamics and I found Billy to be a very believable character. This book was named a Newbery Honor in 2014. Kevin Henkes has written many picture books that I love (Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse, Owen, Chrysanthemum, Kitten’s First Moon, etc.) and also has a middle-grade chapter book, Olive’s Ocean, that I really like.

    Like

  2. I just feel like for a second grader there is definitely more going on in their lives than what the book portrayed. I haven’t read any other books by Kevin Henkes that I know of but I think I will give one of those books a try.

    Like

Leave a Reply

